Federal Programs

Every Student Succeeds Act Approved in December 2015 
The Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA) is the latest reauthorization of the 1965 Elementary and Secondary Education Act (ESEA) and was approved by the U.S. Congress and signed into law in December 2015. ESSA reauthorizes the nation’s national education law and longstanding commitment to equal opportunity for all students and replaces the No Child Left Behind Act of 2001.
Title I
Title I, the cornerstone of the No Child Left Behind Act, is a federally-funded program which provides assistance to targeted schools. Currently five preschool classrooms, five elementary schools, four middle schools and one high school in Edgecombe County receive funding to provide services to ensure student success.

Parental engagement is a critical component of the Title I program. The school and family both agree, through a compact, to support the learning of children. Ask your child's school how you can be involved.
Migrant Education
Title I, Part C provides over $5 million that participating school systems use to assist the children of seasonal or temporary farm workers. Services provided include teachers, teacher assistants, language acquisition, and other services designed to respond to the unique needs of migrant students.
Title I Forms