Edgecombe County Public Schools

Skip to main content
Mobile Menu
Licensure » Testing Requirements

Testing Requirements

Initially licensed educators are required to ATTEMPT State required test(s) during the first year of employment and PASS required tests by the end of the 2nd year of teaching.  If all State required tests are not passed by the third year of the initial license, the license can not be converted to a continuing license.  Also, if State required testing does not occur as directed, the initial license will expire and can't be reissued until all State required testing is completed.

The Praxis Series tests are still used for all licensure areas with the exception of Elementary Education and Special Education. Click here to go the Praxis website. Elementary Education and Special Education require the Pearson tests. Click here to go the Pearson testing website.

Employed educator's seeking to add an area to their teaching license should contact the Licensure Specialist in their school district. Adding an area requires a $60 licensure processing fee. This fee must be paid credit card (MasterCard or VISA). Educator's not employed by a N.C. school system, must make application through the on-line licensure system along with an uploaded copy of their test scores and the licensure processing fee.
Click on the link below see the State Board Policy on testing requirements.  The Policy includes the tests required for each licensure area as well as the scores required. 
State Board Licensure Testing Requirements Policy: