Edgecombe County Public Schools

Skip to main content
Mobile Menu
Teacher Support » Beginning Teacher Support

Beginning Teacher Support

The Edgecombe County Public School System strives to provide comprehensive support to our beginning teachers. This includes direct support at the school-level with a site-based mentor as well as a district mentor. The district mentor oversees all the school-level mentors by assisting with professional support.

Beginning teachers also actively participate in regularly scheduled Teacher Talk Sessions. These sessions provide additional training relevant to beginning teachers throughout the school year. These sessions also allow new staff to collaborate with one another and share their experiences.

Click here for the Beginning Teacher Talk Sessions scheduled for this school year. It is imperative to attend these meetings in order to meet eligibility requirements for conversion of a BT's Standard Professional I (SPI) to a Standard Professional II (SPII) license at the end of the 3-year beginning teacher program.

The district highly values beginning teachers and the role they play in educating our students.