ECPS Employees honored with Edge Awards

“Employees in various categories were recognized for going above and beyond, having impeccable work ethic, and for being vital members of their school communities. It was a wonderful evening of celebrating excellence in our schools,” said Matthew Mayo, ECPS Director of Technology, who organized the event.

During the ceremony, students participated in talent showcases. Student performers were Martin Millennium Academy’s Jeanyzha Jenkins, SouthWest Edgecombe’s Harley Abrams, and West Edgecombe’s Emma League.

1st Annual ECPS Edge Award Finalists & Winners:


Teacher Assistant of the Year


Angela Harper – Stocks Elementary School

Tammy Pierce – W.A. Pattillo Middle School

Winner - Linda White-Edmonds – SouthWest Edgecombe High School


Classified Employee of the Year


Nai Barnes – Central Services

Amanda Davis – G.W. Carver Elementary School

Larry Killebrew – South Edgecombe Middle School

Terry Williams - SouthWest Edgecombe High School

Winner - Etheleen Wilkins – Edgecombe Early College High School


Bus Driver of the Year


Phyllis Battle – G.W. Carver Elementary School

Minnie Bulluck – W.A. Pattillo Middle School

Winner -Timmy Knight – G.W. Bulluck Elementary School


Certified Employee of the Year


Jaime Axthelm – Phillips Middle School

Kimberly Collette – North Edgecombe High School

Sabrina Lancaster – North Edgecombe/Pattillo Middle

Angela Pompey – Central Services

Winner - Rebecca Stokes – West Edgecombe Middle School


Cutting Edge Award


James Guy – Edgecombe Early College High School

Erika Sanger – South Edgecombe Middle School

Winner - Melissa Altemose – W.A. Pattillo Middle School


Lifetime Achievement Award


Ben Harrison – W.A. Pattillo Middle School

Josephine Macon – Coker-Wimberly/Phillips/North Edgecombe

Winner - Venus Bradley – SouthWest Edgecombe High School


Assistant Principal of the Year


Mary Bridgers – South Edgecombe Middle School

Julie Simpson – W.A. Pattillo Middle School

Winner - Kelsey Ballard – West Edgecombe Middle School


Teacher of the Year


Cassandra Cherry – Phillips Middle School

Jennifer Chesson – West Edgecombe Middle School

Frank Matthews – SouthWest Edgecombe High School

Samonica Smith – G.W. Bulluck Elementary School

Winner - Lee Harrison – Edgecombe Early College High School


School of the Year


G.W. Bulluck Elementary School

Phillips Middle School

W.A. Pattilllo Middle School

Winner - West Edgecombe Middle School


Superintendent’s Award


Paula Flythe – Central Services