Edgecombe Early College High School holds Graduation Ceremony

The ceremony opened with a welcome from senior Kaitlyn Williamson. “Thank you to the friends who encouraged us, the teachers who believed in us, and the family that pushed us,” said Williams. “This graduation is a celebration for all of us.”

Early College High School Principal Matt Smith expressed his appreciation for the families of the graduates.

“Five years ago you joined the Early College family along with your students,” said Smith. “We thank you for your support.”

Jilianne Leary was recognized as Valedictorian for the Class of 2017, while Daniel Crandol was named Salutatorian.

According to Sheri Hayes, EECHS Counselor, the graduating class has earned over $225,000 in free tuition and books from Edgecombe Community College while students at the Early College. In addition, the seniors have been awarded over $472,000 in scholarships.

Shawn Dawes, Early College Liaison and High School Coordinator, shared the outstanding accomplishments of the graduating class.

“These students have earned 1530 hours of college credit with an average of 59 hours per graduate. Their average college grade point average is 3.7," said Dawes. “Every student received a Career Readiness Certificate, which tells employers in the community they have the skills necessary to be employable.”

The following scholarships were presented during the ceremony:


John Braswell - NC Division of Veterans Affairs


Daniel Crandol - G.W. Carver, Campbell University Presidential Scholarship, Mary Ferebee Howard & W.A. Pattillo


Anna Evans - Wesleyan Trustee


Nassar Hill - Wesleyan Award


Dustin Joyner - Fayetteville State (Debt-Free)


Jilianne Leary - Keihin CST, Distinguished Young Women, McBryde Scholarship & W.A. Pattillo


Taylor Quincy - EDGE Scholarship


Erin Rogerson - Pilot Club


Tatyana Wade – PFLAG & Fayetteville State (Debt-free)


Katelynne Warren –State Employees Credit Union - People Helping People


Kaitlyn Williamson - Tarboro Rotary Club


Ryan Worley - EDGE Scholarship


Joseph Worsley – East Carolina University Honors College